Initial Thoughts about Staging

I started the project thinking I would use 4 projectors and 4 speakers to create 4 audio-visual ‘planes’, not unlike the D-Fuse installation ‘Small Global’ which creates a 4-walled structure as shown in the below diagram and  photo.


As I started thinking through the practicalities of staging a 4-plane projection, I realised that I was being over ambitious for a self-financed project on a limited budget. I took another look at the venue and found another room that is slightly smaller, easier to darken in which I hope to stage a 2-plane projection.

The set-up relies on being able to source a pair of short-throw projectors that are powerful enough to back project and the projection screens themselves. I have the speakers sourced, thanks to an extremely helpful member of the Slack Space committee.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

